PBR Origin III – Brisbane Rosters Announced For Third Stop of 2022 PBR Origin Series

By: Kacie Albert  Friday, May 20, 2022 @ 2:58 PM


Ahead of the third iteration of the 2022 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Australia Monster Energy Tour Origin tournament, the organization has announced the complete 10-rider rosters that will represent Team New South Wales and Team Queensland at the state vs. state bull riding showdown at PBR Origin III – Brisbane on May 21 at Brisbane Entertainment Centre.

A three-part series of Monster Energy Tour stops, the PBR Origin is modeled after the State of Origin rugby league event that is considered Australian sport’s greatest rivalry.

Through a trio of events held March 26 in Newcastle, New South Wales, April 23 in Tamworth, New South Wales, and May 21 in Brisbane, Queensland, Team Queensland and Team New South Wales will go head-to-head to determine which state is the supreme bull riding powerhouse.

Locked in a heated battle, Team Queensland emerged the victors in Newcastle, while a resilient Team New South Wales rode supreme in Tamworth. In Brisbane, the Maroons will look to earn their third straight Origin Championship, while the Blues will look to continue their momentum and capture the state’s first title in the tournament.

Each stop of the 2022 PBR Origin tournament will feature three rounds of competition. After each of the 10 competing bull riders for both teams attempt one bull each in Round 1 and Round 2, the Top 4 riders from each team will advance to the bonus round for one final out. The event winner will be the team with the highest combined score in the event aggregate.

The bull riding action for PBR Origin III – Brisbane begins at 7 p.m. AEDT on Saturday, May 21 at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre. 

In Brisbane, Team New South Wales, set to be captained by 2016 PBR Australia Champion Cody Heffernan (Singleton, New South Wales), will be rounded out by: Lachlan Richardson (Gresford, New South Wales), Braith Nock (Bendemeer, New South Wales), Will Purcell (Albury, New South Wales),  Chris Wilson (Parkville, New South Wales), Nathan Burtenshaw (Coonamble, New South Wales), Lachlan Slade (Tamworth, New South Wales), Thomas Hudson (Dungog, New South Wales), Trefor Sproule (Singleton, New South Wales), and Sam Woodall (Luddenham, New South Wales).

Team Queensland will be guided by four-time and reigning Australian Champion Aaron Kleier (Clermont, Queensland) inside Brisbane Entertainment Centre, with the remainder of the team being: Qynn Anderson (Koumala, Queensland), Brumby Brandenburg (Clermont, Queensland), Kelsey Pavlou (Gracemere, Queensland), Michael Smith (Tully, Queensland), Jake Curr (Mount Isa, Queensland), Caiden Sandilands (Rockhampton, Queensland), Ben Moran (Yeppoon, Queensland), Jackson Gray (Barcaldine, Queensland), and Beau Willis (Bowen, Queensland). 

While the Captains were selected earlier in 2022, the aforementioned teams were determined based on the national and world standings following the most recent PBR Australia Touring Pro Division event in Berry, New South Wales, on May 7.

As the 2022 PBR Monster Energy Tour Origin series got underway March 26 in Newcastle, New South Wales, led by a strong opening round effort, and a perfect performance by young gun Andersen, Team Queensland inched closer to winning their third consecutive PBR Origin Championship, victorious at PBR Origin I – Newcastle.

However, a resilient Team New South Wales kept their championship dreams alive, edging Team Queensland by one ride to win PBR Origin II – Tamworth and even the score to 1-1. In Newcastle, the Blues’ roster was headlined by seven-time PBR World Finals Richardson who delivered a perfect performance. After riding Blowing Smoke (Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls) for 85.5 points and I’m Cool (Dan Klabe) for 84.5 points, Richardson concluded the event with an 84-point ride aboard Call Me Joe (Throsby & Russell Bucking Bulls). 

In Brisbane, Team New South Wales will welcome Woodall to the roster for the first time, while Team Queensland will feature two new riders, including Curr and Willis. While Curr was part of the team for PBR Origin I, Willis will make his series debut in Brisbane.

Tickets for PBR Origin III – Brisbane at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre are on-sale now and can be purchased at pbraustralia.com.au

All future PBR Australia events are subject to change, planned in accordance with directives issued by relevant government and health authorities given the evolving regulations during the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic.